Home>Cub Scouts>Programme

Cub Scout Programme

The Cub Scout Programme is the second stage of the Association's Progressive Training Scheme for young people. This stage of the Programme which caters to boys aged 7 - 11 years, is made up of three elements:

All these Awards are structured so that the programme:

  • Has a structured framework
  • Is simple, relevant and practical
  • Fulfills the Aim of the Association
  • Emphasises traditional Scouting skills
  • Is flexible for direct entry
  • Gives freedom of choice of some activities depending on age
  • Meets the needs of different age groups
  • Leads from Beaver Scouting into Scouting
Scout Progressive Awards

The Progressive Training Awards are the cornerstone of the Cub Scout Programme. They provide activities that encourage the progressive development of individual Cub Scouts based on their age group and personal development. It is structured so that Cub Scouts can move at a pace that is suitable to their own developmental stage.

The Progressive Training Awards are the Moving on Award (Beaver Scouts → Cub Scouts), the Membership Badge, the Bronze Arrow, the Silver Arrow, the Gold Arrow, the Mahogany Award and the Moving On Award (Cub Scouts → Scouts). Below are the requirements for each of the Progressive Training Awards.

Scout Development Awards

The Developmental Awards provide the opportunity for Cub Scouts to further develop their individual skills as they work on the Progressive Training Awards. They consist of a number of Challenges.

The Challenges complement the Progressive Awards. These have been developed to extend the Cub Scouts' skills and experience. The Challenges can be attempted by a Cub Scout on his own, by a small group or by the whole Pack. The Challenges offer a variety of activities so that Cub Scouts can further develop personal interests and skills.

Below are the requirements for each of the Challenges.

Cub Scout Activity Badges

Activity Badges are another way of recognising the achievements of Cub Scouts who have learnt a new skill, or who have taken part in an activity for a certain period of time.

There are 45 Cub Scout Activity Badges covering a wide variety of skills and activities. Below is the list of activity badges.

  • Air Activities
  • Animal Carer
  • Artist
  • Astronomer
  • Athlete
  • Barbados Conservation
  • Book Reader
  • Camper
  • Chef
  • Collector
  • Communicator
  • Community Service
  • Cyclist
  • Do-It-Yourself
  • Entertainer
  • Equestrian
  • Explorer
  • Fisherman
  • Gardener
  • Global Conservation
  • Guide
  • Health and Fitness
  • HIV/AIDS Awareness
  • Hobbies
  • Home Help
  • Home Safety
  • Law Awareness
  • Local Knowledge
  • Map Reader
  • Martial Arts
  • My Faith
  • Naturalist
  • Navigator
  • Personal Safety
  • Photographer
  • Road Safety
  • Scientist
  • Sports Enthusiast
  • Substance Abuse
  • Sustainable Energy
  • Tourism
  • Water Activities
  • World Faiths
  • World Friendship
  • Writer
 Staged Activity Badges 

The Staged Activity badges have been designed to provide a unified approach throughout the Sections. There are six activity badges staged across the Sections. This means that a boy can gain whichever badge is appropriate to the level they have reached. It is possible, for example, for a Beaver Scout who is an excellent swimmer to gain a higher level badge than a Scout who has just taken up the activity. A boy should always wear only the highest of each staged badge type that they have gained on the uniform.

Below are the requirements for each of the Staged Activity Badges.


  © Barbados Boy Scouts Association - May 2014 - About - Contact Us - Terms and Conditions   Creative Commons License